TIFF 2019

TRANSILVANIA INTERNATIONAL FILM FESTIVAL 2019

La 18ème édition du Transilvania International Film Festival se déroule du 31 mai au 9 juin à Cluj-Napoca. Le TIFF est le festival du septième art le plus apprécié en Roumanie, attirant de nombreux fans de cinéma d’Europe centrale et de l’est, mais aussi des réalisateurs, des producteurs et des professionnels de l’industrie du film. Fondé par le réalisateur Tudor Giurgiu, le TIFF célèbre l’originalité et l’indépendance explorant les dernières tendances du cinéma international. Cette année l’invité spécial du festival est l’acteur Nicolas Cage qui recevra le  Transilvania Trophy for Special Contribution to World Cinema.

 

COMPETITION

THE HUMORIST de Michael Idov – 1984, Union Soviétique. Boris, acteur de stand-up juif russe, est tourmenté non seulement pas l’oppression extérieure et la censure mais également par ses propres incertitudes. La gloire et le manque de liberté personnelle, le rendent fou. Alors que les leaders lui dictent ce sur quoi il peut blaguer ou pas, il déraille. Armée de la très américaine et  exotique notion  d‘insult humour, il prend se revanche.

THE MAN WHO SURPRISED EVERYONE d’Alexey Chupov – Egor est un garde-forestier dans la taïga sibérienne. C’est un bon père de famille, respecté dans son village. Lui et sa femme attendent un deuxième enfant. Mais un jour Egor découvre qu’il a un cancer et seulement deux mois à vivre. Aucune médecine traditionnelle ni même le chamanisme ne peuvent le sauver. N’ayant d’autre choix il fait une tentative désespérée de défier la mort. Egor décide de prendre l’identité d’une femme comme un moyen de lutter contre la maladie. Sa famille et la société locale doivent désormais accepter son choix.

 

ROMANIAN FILM DAYS, le cinéma roumain et ses nouveaux talents émergents

THE DISTANCE BETWEEN ME AND ME de Mona Nicoara – Un film intense et personnel sur l’art, la croyance et la politique. A l’aide de la mémoire individuelle et d’archives officielles, le portrait de la juive roumaine Nina Cassian, poète avant-gardiste, musicienne, artiste, femme fatale, buveuse invétérée, de son refuge dans l’underground communiste à la confrontation avec le régime de Ceaucescu dans les années 70 qui la conduisit à s’exiler à New York en 1985.

MOON HOTEL KABUL d’Anca Damian – Ivan Semciuc est un journaliste d’investigation cynique. Il combine habilement la vérité et la fiction dans ses rapports. Un jour quelque chose de similaire se passe dans sa vie: à la fin d’une mission à Kaboul il passe une nuit avec Ioana, la traductrice. L’évènement parait anodin, mais le lendemain, de retour à Bucarest, Ivan découvre que Ioana a été tuée avec les poignets tranchés. Sa routine entre dans une profonde révolution, Ioana le hante, elle est plus présente dans la mort qu’elle ne l’a été dans la vie.

 

SUPERNOVA, des films projetés dans d’autres festivals internationaux

ROJO de Benjamín Naishta – Au milieu des années 70, un homme étrange arrive dans une petite ville de province. Dans un restaurant, sans raison apparente, il commence à insulter Claudio, un avocat renommé. La communauté soutient l’avocat et l’étranger est humilié et chassé. Plus tard la même nuit l’étranger, qui est déterminé à se venger, intercepte Claudio et sa femme Susana. L’avocat prend alors un chemin sans retour incluant la mort, les secrets et le silence.

THE ANNOUNCEMENT de Mahmut Fazıl Coşkun – Le coup d’état militaire de 1963 en Turquie. L’occupation de la station de radio nationale d’Istanbul et l’annonce du succès du coup d’état. Basé sur des faits réels qui se sont déroulés au cours d’une nuit, la reconstruction du suspense d’un évènement dont les effets se reflètent, aujourd’hui plus que jamais, sur la situation politique de la Turquie contemporaine.

THE RIVER d’Emir Baigazin – L’histoire d’une famille isolée et apparemment réfractaire à la modernité au Kazakhstan. Le rythme de vie des cinq enfants est réglé par les ordres du père, un homme rigide dans sa sévère moralité. Le fleuve qui coule à côté de leur maison représente le monde de la liberté dans lequel les enfants se réfugient pour fuir du regard du père, un lieu où ils peuvent réaliser leurs désirs. Un jour un garçon arrive avec des habits de la ville, un iPad, un autre mode de vie.

THE THIRD WIFE d’Ash Mayfair – May est une épouse enfant, elle a quatorze ans et elle a été choisie pour être la troisième femme d’un riche propriétaire terrien. May est contente de sa nouvelle condition, avec les autres concubines qui l’introduisent au monde de la séduction et du plaisir, mais elle sait que seule la naissance d’un fils pourra la mettre à l’abri. Une plongée dans le Vietnam du 19ème siècle et de la condition des femmes.

THE SPY GONE NORTH de Jong-bin Yoon – En 1993, l’ex officier militaire Park Suk-young est recruté comme espion par la Corée du Sud avec le nom de de code ‘Black Venus’. Il est envoyé pour infiltrer une groupe d’officiels nord-coréens basés à Pékin. Il doit essayer d’obtenir des informations sur le programme nucléaire de la Corée du Nord. Après s’être rapproché d’une personne d’influence clé, Black Venus réussit à obtenir la confiance des leaders nord-coréens bien au-delà de ses attentes. Mais des machinations politiques des deux côtés menacent de faire échouer ses plans.

TOO LATE TO DIE YOUNG de Dominga Sotomayor Castillo – Chili, 1990.  Un petit groupe de familles vivent dans une communauté isolée au pied des Andes, construisant un nouveau monde loin des excès urbains, avec la liberté émergente qui a suivi la fin récente de la dictature. Ici les adolescents Sofia et Lucas, ainsi que Clara, dix ans, sont voisins sur cette terre aride. Ils luttent avec leurs parents, connaissent leurs premières amours, affrontent des peurs nouvelles, alors qu’ils se préparent à une grande fête pour le Nouvel An. Ils vivent peut-être loin des dangers de la ville, mais pas de ceux de la nature.

 

WHAT’S UP DOC

DREAM AWAY de Marouan Omara e Johanna Domke – Cela ne fait pas si longtemps que des milliers de touristes se rendaient en vacances à Sharm El Sheikh dans la péninsule du Sinaï en Égypte. Le printemps arabe et la confusion de la période post révolutionnaire ont privé la destination de son attrait. Un documentaire fiction avec des aspects surréels qui nous conduit dans une ville sans vie, peuplée de fantômes et de suites vides et abandonnées.

COLD CASE HAMMARSKJÖLD de Mads Brügger – En 1961 le secrétaire général des Nations Unies Dag Hammarskjöld meurt dans un mystérieux accident d’avion. A l’époque il était engagé dans le soutien de l’indépendance du Congo, s’opposant aux volontés des compagnies minéralières européennes. Ce fut en réalité un meurtre déguisé. Cinquante ans après le cas est toujours irrésolu. Une enquête qui essaye de se confronter avec la vérité ensablée dans des mystères, des conspirations et des fausses pistes.

KABUL CITY IN THE WIND d’Aboozar Amini – La violence est une composante toujours présente dans la vie d’Afshin et de son frère Benjamin, qui ont grandi sous les bombes, les coups de mortier, les explosions et les ruines. Quand leur père abandonne ses fils pour fuir en Iran, Afshin se retrouve à devoir élever son petit frère. De l’autre côté de la ville Abas maintient chaque jour en état de circuler son vieil autobus, cible d’attaques terroristes. Un hommage à une ville et un pays lacérés par une guerre infinie.

MIDNIGHT FAMILY de Luke Lorentzen – A Mexico City il y a moins de 45 ambulances pour une ville de 9 millions d’habitants. La famille Ochoa gagne sa vie difficilement grâce à leur ambulance privée, transportant les blessés à l’hopital dans l’espoir d’être récompensés financièrement de leurs efforts. Quand une irruption de la police force la famille à légitimer leurs opérations, leur situation financière désespérée les pousse à des pratiques douteuses.

 

ORA DE RELIGIE, religion et foi dans leurs ramifications sociales et politiques

A SHELTER AMONG THE CLOUDS de Robert Budina – Besnik est un berger seul et un musulman dévoué, hanté par un amour insatisfait. Il est le fils d’une mère catholique et d’un père ancien communiste dont il s’occupe dans un village dans les montagnes d’Albanie. Là-haut les musulmans et les chrétiens ont trouvé une façon de cohabiter dans la paix. Même après la découverte que la vieille mosquée était auparavant une église, le calme de la vie quotidienne peut être préservée – avec l’aide de Besnik. Après la mort de son père, des changements drastiques menacent la famille multi-croyante de Besnik et le berger est contraint de chercher son propre chemin.

M de Yolande Zauberman – Bnei Brak, capitale des Haredim, les juifs ultra-orthodoxes, où Menahem Lang a grandi. Il était connu pour sa voix, devenant un interprète reconnu de chants liturgiques. Depuis lors il cache un secret: durant des années il a été violé par des membres de la communauté qui le vénérait. Menahem réussit à ouvrir la porte de ce monde interdit, en retournant sur la scène du crime. C’est aussi un retour vers les endroits qu’il aimait. Mais est-ce une réconciliation?

GOD EXISTS, HER NAME IS PETRUNYA de Teona Strugar Mitevska – Petrunya a trente et un an, malgré les conseils de sa mère de dire qu’elle en a vingt quatre. Elle a étudié l’histoire, ce qui semble ne pas servir à grand-chose dans un pays comme la Macédoine. Elle ne trouve pas de travail jusqu’à ce qu’elle ne décide de s’inscrire à la croix sacrée (jetée tous les ans par le prêtre dans le fleuve gelé). Elle est plus vive que tout le monde et remporte la compétition devant de nombreux hommes. Une satire mélancolique sur l’état de la démocratie en Macédoine, le machisme et le pouvoir de l’église encore dominant.

CANARY de Christiaan Olwagen – La relation compliquée entre sexualité et foi déstabilise l’existence d’un jeune soldat Johan qui doit faire son service militaire dans la chorale de l’église des forces de défense sud-africaine. Se déroulant en Afrique du Sud en 1985, une histoire d’amour qui parle d’identité et d’acceptation dans un monde uniforme.

 

FOCUS ALBANIA

BOTA d’Iris Elezi – Peuplé de charmants excentriques, le café Bota est un témoin silencieux des vies et des secrets de gens qui vivent dans l’ombre du passé. Longtemps après la fin de la dictature en Albanie, les vies des locaux stagnent, souvent trop pauvres pour saisir les opportunités que la liberté leur a offerte. Mais le progrès, sous la forme d’un projet de construction d’une autoroute, amène du changement et de nouvelles décisions pour ce café très spécial.

 

FOCUS FRANCE

SYSTEME K de Renaud Barret – Kinshasa, République Démocratique du Congo, 2017. Dans cette jungle urbaine de 13 millions d’habitants, au milieu du chaos politique et social, une éclectique scène artistique émerge. Des artistes visuels underground créent à partir de rien, en utilisant des objets recyclés et leurs propres corps pour exprimer leur rage, mais aussi leurs rêves de changement. Malgré les persécutions constantes des autorités, les tabous d’une société traditionnelle et la lutte personnelle des artistes, le mouvement ne peut plus être arrêté.

SYNONYMS de Nadav Lapid – Yoav, un jeune israélien, est déterminé à éliminer ses origines et à devenir français. A Paris il abandonne l’hébreu et essaye par tous les moyens de trouver une nouvelle identité.

 

FOCUS CHINA

JINPA de Pema Tseden – Sur une route isolée qui traverse les vastes plaines du Tibet, un chauffeur de camion qui a accidentellement écrasé un mouton tombe sur un jeune homme qui fait du stop. Alors qu’ils discutent le chauffeur note que son nouvel ami a un poignard en argent enroulé autour de la jambe. Il comprend alors que cet homme cherche à tuer quelqu’un pour se venger. Alors qu’il laisse l’auto-stoppeur à un carrefour, le chauffeur réalise que le peu de temps qu’ils ont passé ensemble a tout changé, et que leurs destins sont désormais liés.

 

HUNGARIAN DAYS

EASY LESSONS de Dorottya Zurbó – Kafia vient de Somalie, elle a vingt ans et étudie le hongrois à Budapest. La découverte de son corps, l’émancipation de sa famille, son ambition de devenir mannequin. L’entrée dans le monde des adultes d’une jeune immigrée à travers son parcours d’intégration et d’assimilation avec la culture européenne. Un chemin qui l’amènera à laisser derrière elle les conditionnements religieux et culturels imposés par ses origines.

 

SPECIAL

AFTER THE REVOLUTION de Laurentiu Calciu – Un document unique sur la Roumanie peu de temps après les jours sanglants de la Révolution roumaine de 1989. Le film rappelle l’état des affaires à Bucarest, où les protestations se déroulaient de manière quotidienne, le peuple s’inquiétant de la façon dont les proclamés leaders avaient pris le contrôle. La caméra filme les rues remplies de gens engagés dans des débats politiques passionnants.

 

Share your thoughts

TIFF 2019

TRANSILVANIA INTERNATIONAL FILM FESTIVAL 2019

The 18th edition of the Transilvania International Film Festival will take place between May 31 and June 9 in Cluj-Napoca. The TIFF is the most important and beloved film-related event in Romania, attracting many movie fans from Central and Eastern Europe, directors, producers, film industry professionals. Created by director Tudor Giurgiu, TIFF celebrates through screenings and special events originality and independence in filmmaking exploring with its packed program many of the latest trends in international cinema. This year’s special guests for the festival is Academy Award-winner Nicolas Cage who will receive the Transilvania Trophy for Special Contribution to World Cinema.

 

GeoMovies Highlights

COMPETITION

THE HUMORIST by Michael Idov – 1984, in the Soviet Union. Boris, a Russian-Jewish stand-up comedian, is tormented not only by external oppression and censorship but also by his own insecurities. Fame, combined with lack of personal freedom, is driving him crazy. Once the leaders who dictate what he can and can’t joke about summon him to their villa, the comedian snaps. Armed with the exotic American notion of “insult humor”, he takes his revenge.
THE MAN WHO SURPRISED EVERYONE by Alexey Chupov – Egor is a fearless state forest guard in the Siberian Taiga. He is a good family man, respected by his fellow villagers. He and his wife Natalia are expecting a second child. But one day Egor finds out that he has cancer and only two months left to live. No traditional medicine or shamanic magic can save him. Finally, left with no other options, he takes a desperate attempt to trick death. Egor chooses to take the identity of a woman as a way of fighting the disease. His family and the local society now have to accept his new self.

 

ROMANIAN FILM DAYS, the most outstanding national filmmaking with a spotlight of new films and emerging filmmakers

THE DISTANCE BETWEEN ME AND ME by Mona Nicoara – An intensely personal film about art, belief and politics. Individual memory and official archives portray Romanian Jewish avant-garde poet, musician, visual artist, femme fatale, prodigious drinker Nina Cassian from her refuge in the Communist underground during the Fascist 1940s that put her on a collision course with the Ceaușescu regime in the 1970s who eventually sent her into an unwanted New York exile in 1985.
MOON HOTEL KABUL by Anca Damian – Ivan Semciuc is a cynical investigative journalist. He is skilfully combining truth and fiction in his reports. Then comes a day when something similar occurs in his own life: at the end of a mission in Kabul, he has a one night stand with Ioana, the translator. The event is seemingly meaningless, but the next day, back to Bucharest, Ivan finds out that Ioana died with her wrists cut. The unshakable routine of his personal life enters a profound revolution, as Ioana is haunting him, more present in her death then she was during life.

 

SUPERNOVA, feature films premiered at the latest first-class international festivals

ROJO by Benjamín Naishta – In the mid-seventies, a strange man arrives in a quiet provincial city. In a restaurant, without any apparent reason, he starts insulting Claudio, a renowned lawyer. The community supports the lawyer and the stranger is humiliated and thrown out of the place. Later that night the stranger, who is determined to wreak a terrible vengeance, intercepts Claudio and his wife Susana. The lawyer then takes a path of no return involving death, secrets and silence.
THE ANNOUNCEMENT by Mahmut Fazıl Coşkun – Based on actual events the story of the 1963 failed coup d’état in Turkey. A group of military officers plan to take down the government in Ankara. The taking over of the the National Radio station does not go to plan. A dark comedy, a wry commentary on Turkey’s uneasy political past suitable to explain the present political situation.
THE RIVER by Emir Baigazin – Set in Kazakhstan the story of a family. Five sons live isolated from the modern world under the control of the father who impose on them a strict sense of discipline. A nearby river is their secret refuge from his authority. One day a boy in city clothes arrives carrying an iPad and a different way of living.
THE THIRD WIFE by Ash Mayfair – In 19th century rural Vietnam, 14-year-old May becomes the third wife of wealthy landowner Hung. Soon she learns that she can only gain status by asserting herself as a woman who can give birth to a male child. May’s hope to change her status turns into a real and tantalizing possibility when she gets pregnant. Faced with forbidden love and its devastating consequences, May finally comes to an understanding of the brutal truth: the options available to her are very few.
THE SPY GONE NORTH by Jong-bin Yoon – In 1993, former military officer Park Suk-young is recruited as a spy by South Korea’s National Intelligence Service and given the codename “Black Venus”. He is then sent to infiltrate a group of high-ranking North Korean officials based in Beijing, with the ultimate goal of acquiring information on the North’s nuclear program. After becoming close to a key power broker, Black Venus succeeds beyond his wildest dreams of gaining the trust of North Korea’s leadership. But political machinations on both sides of the border threaten to derail his accomplishments.
TOO LATE TO DIE YOUNG by Dominga Sotomayor Castillo – Chile, 1990. A small group of families lives in an isolated community right below the Andes, building a new world away from the urban excesses, with the emerging freedom that followed the recent end of the dictatorship. Here, teenagers Sofía and Lucas, and 10-year-old Clara, neighbours in this dry land, struggle with parents, first loves, and fears, as they prepare a big party for New Year’s Eve. They may live far from the dangers of the city, but not from those of nature.

 

WHAT’S UP DOC

DREAM AWAY by Marouan Omara and Johanna Domke – It hasn’t been so long since thousands of tourists from around the world came on holiday to Sharm El Sheikh. The Arab Spring and the confusion of the post revolutionary period deprived the place of its glamour. A surreal fiction-style documentary that features an inanimate city populated with ghosts and abandoned luxury hotel suites.
COLD CASE HAMMARSKJOLD by Mads Brügger – The United Nations’ Secretary-General Dag Hammarskjöld was misteriously killed when his plane crashed in then Northern Rhodesia in 1961. He was flying in to peace talks to end fighting in the mineral-rich Katanga province in Congo. At that time Hammarskjöld was committed to advocating the independence of the former colony against the wishes of the European mining companies. It was not an accident. 55 years after the case is still unsolved. An impressive investigative documentary that tries to confront the truth buried under conspiracies, false clues and cover-ups. Göran Björkdahl, the protagonist in the film, has researched the case for years, and his conclusion, supported by new statements and previously unpublished documents, is, that Hammarskjöld‘s plane was brought down. The motive was to maintain the Westen control of Katanga minerals.
KABUL CITY IN THE WIND by Aboozar Amini – A poetic well-crafted film from a city where life runs against all odds. An impressive dip, into the chaos of Kabul, into its energy, its contradictions, its proud. Abas is fighting every day to keep his worn-out bus alive in the midst of traffic chaos. Afshin must take over the role of father for his brother as their father exiled in Iran. Kabul is still covered by the dust of countless years of conflict, but life continues for its inhabitants who wait for the wind to turn.
MIDNIGHT FAMILY by Luke Lorentzen – In Mexico City fewer than 45 public ambulances serve a population of 9 million. The Ochoa family earns a living — just barely — by operating one of the metropolis’ numerous privately owned ambulances, ferrying the injured to hospitals in hopes of being monetarily rewarded for their efforts. When a crackdown by corrupt police forces the family to try legitimizing their operation, their desperate financial situation pushes them into questionable practices.

 

ORA DE RELIGIE, religion and faith in all their social and political ramifications, nine films focused on different visions of faith competing for the 2019 FIPRESCI Award.

A SHELTER AMONG THE CLOUDS by Robert Budina – Besnik is a lonely shepherd and devoted Muslim, haunted by unfulfilled love. He is the son of a Catholic mother and formerly Communist father whom he takes care of in an Albanian village in the mountains. Up here, Christians and Muslims have found a way to co-exist peacefully. Even after the discovery that the old mosque used to be a church, the calm of daily life can be preserved – with Besnik’s help. After the death of his father, however, drastic changes threaten Besnik’s multi-faith family and the shepherd is forced to seek his own path.
M by Yolande Zauberman – Bnei Brak, world capital of the Haredim, the ultra-Orthodox Jews, where Menahem Lang grew up. He was known for his golden voice, which made him a renowned performer of liturgical chants. Since then he has been hiding a secret: for years, he was raped by members of the community that worshipped him. Menahem succeeds in opening the door to this forbidden world. Menahem returns to the scene of the crime. It is also a return to the places he loved. But is it also a reconciliation?
GOD EXISTS, HER NAME IS PETRUNYA by Teona Strugar Mitevska – Petrunya is 31 but her mother advises her to tell she is 24. She can’t find a job as she has studied history, a subject that no one in Macedonia seems to need. One day, on the Epiphany she decides to take on the challenge and participate in the yearly race for the holy cross that the priest has thrown into the icy river. She dives and competing against young men, she makes it. An angry and melancholic as well satire that questions the status of democratic change in Macedonian society, pointing its finger at the representatives of the church and the media by putting under the spotlight the figure of a woman who asserts herself against archaic traditions.
CANARY by Christiaan Olwagen – The complicated relationship between sexuality and faith destabilizes the existence of a young solider Johan who is drafted to do his military stage in the church choir of the South African defense forces. Set in South Africa in 1985, a love story that speaks to identity and acceptance in a world that is oppressively uniform.

 

FOCUS ALBANIA

BOTA by Iris Elezi – Populated by charming oddballs, quirky café Bota is a silent witness to the lives and secrets of people living in the shadow of the past. Long after the end of Albania’s harsh dictatorship, the locals’ lives have stagnated, most too poor to seize the opportunities liberty has offered them. But progress, in the form of a highway construction project, prompts change and new decisions for this very special café society.

 

FOCUS FRANCE

SYSTEME K by Renaud Barret – Kinshasa, Democratic Republic of Congo, 2017. In the urban jungle counting over 13 million inhabitants, amid social and political chaos, an eclectic and bubbling street art scene is emerging. Underground visual artists, musicians and performers create out of nothing, using recycled objects and their own bodies to express their anger, but also their dreams for change. Despite the constant harassment of the authorities, the strong taboos of a traditional society and the personal struggles of the artists, the movement can no longer be stopped.
SYNONYMS by Nadav Lapid – Yoav, a young Israeli, is determined to wipe out his origins and become French. In Paris, he abandons the Hebrew language and strives in all sorts of ways to find a new identity.

 

FOCUS CHINA

JINPA by Pema Tseden – On an isolated road passing through the vast barren plains of Tibet, a truck driver who has accidentally run over a sheep chances upon a young man who is hitching a ride. As they drive and chat, the truck driver notices that his new friend has a silver dagger strapped to his leg. He comes to understand that this man is out to kill someone who wronged him earlier in life. As he drops the hitchhiker off at a fork in the road, little does the truck driver realize that their short time together has changed everything, and that their destinies are inexorably intertwined.

 

HUNGARIAN DAYS

EASY LESSONS by Dorottya Zurbó – The poetic journey of Kafiya, a beautiful girl who on the brink of adulthood breaks up with everything she grew up with in Somalia. Cultural values, taboos and dogmas fall apart in the most casual situations as she tries to adapt to a new life in Europe, Hungary. Her Mum helped her escape her fate, but how can Kafiya explain the changes she lives through to her most loved one? She wants to do it for a sense of duty, but how… This inner struggle becomes the film itself and maybe the only possible form of confession.

 

SPECIAL

AFTER THE REVOLUTION by Laurentiu Calciu – A unique document on the mood of a nation shortly after the bloody days of the 1989 Romanian Revolution. The film records the state of affairs in Bucharest, where random protests happen on a daily basis, as many people are worried about the way the self-proclaimed new leaders have taken control. The camera captures the streets filled with people engaged in passionate political debates.

 

Share your thoughts